Rock Slide Brownie from The Pickle Barrel restaurantbar

On my way home from giving a talk on eggs to Family Studies classes at a high school in Scarborough yesterday, I stopped in again at the Williams-Sonoma store in Yorkdale Mall to see if the chocolate bar brownie pans were in stock yet.

Still no pans, but this time I decided to leave my name so I could be notified when they did come in.

As I hurried out of the mall, focused on getting back on the road to try to beat Toronto’s rush hour traffic, I passed The Pickle Barrel‘s take-out kiosk. My subconscious brownie radar honed in on a plate of decadent brownies in the display case of take-out foods, and I automatically veered over to take a quick peek. The Rock Slide Brownies – aptly named for the rocky topping of brownie chunks, pecans and caramel – looked way too good to pass up, so I shelled out $2.49 plus tax for a piece.

RockSlide Brownie from the Pickle Barrel Restaurant

Rock Slide Brownie from the Pickle Barrel Restaurant

I headed back to my car, with my brownie treasure in a plastic see-through take-out container, and a napkin and fork. I was hungry, having only lunched on a little wedge of Pizza Omelette that I’d had a couple students make for their classmates during my earlier presentations. I knew I’d have trouble getting that brownie home so Murray could share it with me, but I wanted at least some of it to make it so I could take a picture.

As I sat in my car contemplating the situation, knowing I needed to get back on the road soon or I’d be in for at least a 2 hour-drive home, I suddenly remembered I HAD MY CAMERA WITH ME!!! I’d brought it along to a work event on the weekend, and hadn’t taken it out of my purse yet although I’d meant to numerous times during the week. While it wasn’t a heavy camera, it did add a little weight to my purse, and heaven knows, my purse had enough junk in it already.

That settled things! I knew I was meant to eat the brownie right there and then. I could snap a quick picture, and nibble on it while I drove home. Murray probably didn’t want any of it any way.

The brownie was eaten before I exited the parking lot. To be fair, the parking lot at Yorkdale Mall is huge. I reasoned it was safer to eat the brownie while driving through the parking lot than while going 120 km down Hwy 410. (I know. Neither is a very good idea.)

As for the Rock Slide Brownie, it was good, but it looked better than it tasted. There was a molasses flavour to it which was a little unexpected. And with the caramel in the topping, I thought it would be sweeter than it was. Murray really didn’t miss too much…..

Rating (out of 5): 3.25

0 Responses to “Rock Slide Brownie from The Pickle Barrel restaurantbar”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share
February 2009
S M T W T F S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

